fbpx Skip to content

BRICS Expands Its Horizon: Welcoming New Members

BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) opens its doors to Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

A Historic Expansion

In a momentous decision, the BRICS alliance, consisting of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, has taken a bold step towards expansion. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, at the 15th BRICS summit in Johannesburg, announced the inclusion of six new countries, marking a significant shift in the dynamics of this influential group.

(From L to R) President of Brazil Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, President of China Xi Jinping, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Russia’s Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov attend the 2023 BRICS Summit at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on August 24, 2023. | Photo Credit: AFP

Strengthening Multipolarity

Prime Minister Modi emphasized that this expansion would bolster BRICS and promote confidence in the concept of a multipolar world order. The decision to invite Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates reflects a commitment to diversity and collaboration on a global scale.

Guiding Principles and Consensus

Modi commended the consensus reached on the guiding principles, standards, criteria, and procedures for BRICS expansion. With these new members, BRICS anticipates injecting fresh dynamism and energy into its endeavors.

An Important Milestone

Notably, this expansion comes 13 years after the inclusion of South Africa in 2010. Originally conceived as an alliance of major economies with a global impact, BRICS has evolved to embrace a broader spectrum of nations shaping the post-Cold War world order.

Building Consensus

Prime Minister Modi highlighted India’s warm relations with the prospective new members and expressed India’s efforts to ensure that countries expressing a desire to join BRICS can contribute as partner countries.

Commitment to Peace

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, the current Chair of BRICS, presented the Johannesburg Declaration, emphasizing the group’s commitment to inclusive multilateralism and upholding international law, particularly the principles of the United Nations Charter. The declaration also underscored a dedication to peaceful conflict resolution through dialogue and inclusive consultation.

Acknowledging Global Disparities

Ramaphosa pointed out the world’s growing disparities, exacerbated by the lingering effects of the global COVID-19 pandemic. BRICS continues to play a vital role in addressing these global challenges.

NDB’s Vision

President Ramaphosa revealed that Dilma Roussef, the president of the New Development Bank (NDB), has submitted a report outlining the bank’s scope and vision, indicating further developments in the financial sphere within BRICS.

Acknowledging a Lunar Triumph

Prime Minister Modi also expressed his gratitude to the BRICS community for acknowledging India’s successful soft landing of Chandrayaan-3 on the moon’s south pole. He celebrated this achievement as a victory for the global scientific community, transcending national boundaries.

This expansion marks a significant stride towards a more inclusive and influential BRICS alliance, fostering global cooperation and unity.

Read More: Official Article

More Link
What's New

Copyright © 2023 UPSC Padhai. All Rights Reserved.